Links


These are just a few sites that I've thrown together quickly, but if you know anyone else who would love to be on this list, please email me. Thanks  ~ Joy

Writer's Resources
The New Zealand Society of Authors ~ http://www.authors.org.nz/


Kiwi Writers ~ http://kiwiwriters.org/



Editing and Proofreading Services
The New Zealand Society of Authors Manuscript Assessors and Editors ~ http://www.authors.org.nz/wa.asp?idWebPage=37983&idDetails=166 
 
Sue Copsey Editoral ~ sue.copsey@xtra.co.nz www.suecopsey.com 

Mary Egan Manuscript Assessment & Editing ~ sophia@maryegan.co.nz www.maryegan.co.nz

David Muller Proofreading & Copy Editing ~cmuller@ihug.co.nz

Adrienne Moris AM Publishing NZ Editing and Proofreading ~ a.morris@woosh.co.nz www.amproofreadingnz.com

Carolyn McKenzie Italian Translation, Proofreading and Copy Editing ~ carolynmckenzie@libero.it www.ventimigliaaltawords.com

Create Books Copy-editing, typesetting, proofreading ~ info@createbooks.co.nz www.createbooks.co.nz 

Diane's Proofreading and Editing Services ~ http://dianesediting.webs.com/ 
Diane is based in Auckland, NZ.

There For You Editing Services ~ http://www.thereforyouediting.com/
Melissa, I think, is based in the UK.

Jo is in Rome, Italy.

Proof Read My File ~ http://www.proofreadmyfile.com/
Maria Rose is London based.

Canada based.

Kimberleigh is based in the UK.
Children's Writer's Resources
Resources for Children's Writers ~ http://www.resourcesforchildrenswriters.blogspot.com



Maureen Crisp ~ http://www.maureencrisp.com/2013/03/un-natural.html
Maureen is based in Welllington, NZ.


Joy Cowley ~ http://www.joycowley.com/
Joy is based in Wairarapa, NZ.

Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators ~ http://scbwiaustralianz.com/

Writing Teen Novels ~ http://writingteennovels.com/

Dummies ~ http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/writing-childrens-books-for-dummies-cheat-sheet.html

Creative Kids Tales ~ http://www.creativekidstales.com.au/links/childrens-publishers-aus.html

Australian Picture Book Publishers ~ http://diannedibates.blogspot.com.au/2013/07/australian-picture-book-publishers.html  

NZ Children's Books in Print ~ http://issuu.com/crissiblair/docs/nzcbip12-13_digital

Self-publishing Resources


Wikipedia 'Self-publishing ~ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-publishing

A Newbie's Guide to publishing ~ http://jakonrath.blogspot.co.nz/


Ebook Resources
Kindle Direct Publishing ~ https://kdp.amazon.com/self-publishing/help?topicId=A3R2IZDC42DJW6


Simplified Formatting Guide ~ https://kdp.amazon.com/self-publishing/help?topicId=A17W8UM0MMSQX6

Smashwords ~ http://www.smashwords.com/about/how_to_publish_on_smashwords


Illustrators
Sarah Anderson Illustration ~ http://www.sarahandersonillustration.com/Sarah_Anderson_Illustration/Sarah_Nelisiwe_Anderson_Illustration_-_HOME.html 
Sarah is based in NZ.


New Zealand Ilustrators
Jason Brown (NZ)
Email: unkaval@gmail.com
Photography can be found at http://www.flickr.com/photos/astronomr/ 
 
Paul Lafaele (NZ)

Paul Elder (NZ)

Chan Ghee Leow (NZ)
https://vimeo.com/71094521

Danielle Tran (NZ)
danielle.tran@floatingdragon.com
021 106 1755

Suzanne Beer (NZ?)
https://www.facebook.com/suzanne.beer.54

James Copsey (NZ)
http://illustrations-james.tumblr.com/

Sandra Morris Illustration Agency (NZ)
http://www.illustration.co.nz/index.html  

FBI Illustrators (Fabulous Bureau of Illustrator) 
http://www.illustrators.co.nz/

International Illustrators
Elance (Intl)

Ewa PodleĊ› (Intl)
rozalek@yahoo.com

Isella Vega (Intl)
isella.vega@gmail.com

Hozayfah Art (Intl)
Hozayfah_elderdawy@yahoo.com

Pat Lewis (Intl)

Jim Brenneman (Intl)

Veronica Grech (Intl)

Helen H. Wu (Intl)
helenwustudio@gmail.com

Art Competitions ~ http://www.chromacon.co.nz/art-competitions/
Hairy Troll Designz ~ http://www.hairytrolldesignz.com/ 
Paul is based in Hamilton, NZ.

Marketing and Promotions
Yvonne is based in Hamilton, NZ.

Mary Egan Publishing Digital and Self-Publishing Experts ~ sophia@maryegan.co.nz www.maryegan.co.nz

DIY Publishing Manuscript to Market with DIY Publishing ~ lis@DIYpublishing.co.nz kris@DIYpublishing.co.nz www.diypublishing.co.nz

Lighhouse PR NZ Specialists in Book Marketing and Publishing ~ sarah@lighthousepr.co.nz
www.lighthousepr.co.nz


Create Books Printing and Distribution, Marketing ~ info@createbooks.co.nz  www.createbooks.co.nz  

SM4 Writers ~ http://socialmedia4writers.com/

Laurence is based in the UK.

Author Discovery ~ http://authordiscovery.com/
http://authordiscovery.com/2013/06/21/12-author-profile-sites-to-boost-your-discoverability/

Your Writer Platform ~ http://www.yourwriterplatform.com/blog-post-blunders/
http://www.yourwriterplatform.com/author-website-elements/

Writer's Digest ~ http://www.writersdigest.com/online-editor/how-can-the-average-writer-make-money-self-publishing-e-books  


Social Media Today ~ http://socialmediatoday.com/martinmeyergossner/1578936/how-write-perfect-post-infographic


Liz Long on how she used sites to promote her ebook promotions ~ http://lizclong.com/2013/06/10/amazon-kdp-select-how-i-got-over-20k-downloads/

Circulating your name as an Author ~ http://rachaelrippon.blogspot.co.nz/2013/06/guest-post-circulating-your-name-author.html?spref=fb

Free Ebook Sites by Damimepub ~ http://damimepub.blogspot.co.nz/2013/02/the-best-free-ebook-sites-for-you-to-use.html 

Freebies ~ http://freebies.about.com/od/onlinebooks/tp/free-kindle-books.htm

Stroppy Author ~ http://www.stroppyauthor.com/2013/07/platform-and-profession.html#comment-form

Help I Need A Publisher ~ http://www.helpineedapublisher.blogspot.co.uk/search/label/networking%20for%20authors

A very interesting read about "What deals will publishers offer in five years’ time? ~ http://nailyournovel.wordpress.com/2013/08/11/future-of-publishing-what-deals-will-publishers-offer-in-five-years-time/

Zee Southcombe ~ http://zeesouthcombe.com/best-of-the-blogging-world/

Gallycat Book Promotions ~ http://www.mediabistro.com/galleycat/15-places-to-promote-your-book-for-free_b76294


A list of Indepentant Bookstores in NZ ~ http://booksellers.co.nz/independent-stores


Non-USA Tax Advice
Catherine, Caffeinated ~ http://catherineryanhoward.com/2012/02/24/non-us-self-publisher-tax-issues-dont-need-to-be-taxing/#comment-29944 
Catherine is based somewhere in the world and has some fantastic advice on self-publishing. But her Tax Advice is best here. :)


Vanity Publishing
Print-a-book NZ ~ http://www.printabook.co.nz/?gclid=CPCv1-KIkrgCFSdepgodwXMAvQ 

Xlibris NZ ~  http://www.xlibris.co.nz/requestkit2/index.aspx?cat=ppc&ls=search%20engine&src=Google&gkw=NZ%20Search&kw=Book%20Publishing&gclid=CP-AreOIkrgCFSdepgodwXMAvQ

Copypress NZ ~ http://www.copypress.co.nz/self-publishing-book.php 


Cover Design
The Future of Ink ~ http://thefutureofink.com/killer-ebook-cover/ 

Cinda Fernando Cover Design ~ http://cindafernando.com/2012/book-cover-design/ebook-cover-tips-thumbnail/

Huffington Post Self-Publishings Worst Covers ~ http://www.huffingtonpost.com/nathan-shumate/selfpublishings-worst-cov_b_2457689.html

Book and Cover Design ~ http://www.bookandcoverdesign.com/tips.php

Write on the River ~ http://writeitforward.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/the-dos-and-donts-of-cover-design-publishing-lesson-1/

The Book Cover Archive ~ http://bookcoverarchive.com/

The Huffington Post ~ http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/06/27/best-book-covers-2012-_n_3509364.html
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/05/30/book-cover-design-indies_n_3354504.html

Dear Author ~ http://dearauthor.com/features/letters-of-opinion/guest-post-brave-new-world-what-ive-learned-about-cover-designs-for-digital-publishing/